Uncategorized

Oh, The Places I Go.

It’s been exactly one year since I got on my very first plane and flew 12 hours away to Europe. I thought, first time might as well do it BIG! I traveled with my best friend and 22 other strangers from around America, (yup, still doing it big). In those two weeks I was gone, I found myself, people, and culture that changed my life and opened my eyes.

Today is the day to be grateful for the experiences you’ve had traveling or for that burning desire you have to explore the world.

Here are the top 5 reasons to travel the globe, whether it is with your best friend or a whole bunch of strangers.

  1. Meeting your new clique: It’s safe to say when you travel with strangers, you get really close, really fast! Me and my new travel buddies clicked instantly when I went on my trip. Like-minded people tend to travel in packs so if you are looking for adventure, most likely you will end up meeting adventurous people on the way. I went on a trip with 22 other young adults whom I’d never met before and I’ve got to say it was incredible. After just one day, we formed a tight bond that felt like we were old mates.

    Our very first day in London & our very first picture together. *This was the trip of hilarious selfies so prepare to laugh.*

    Our very first day in London & our very first picture together. *This was the trip of hilarious selfies so prepare to laugh.*

  2. Strengthening the bond of your current clique: I traveled with my best friend Nadia. We shared a hotel room for 12 days, sat together on a two hour train ride, a 15 HOUR TRAIN RIDE, ate together, walked together, danced together and adventured together. Nadia and I practically did everything together, and it was AWESOME. I learned that she is pretty much the friend equivalent of my soulmate (is that weird?) and that we are pretty much the same person but still completely different (which is even weirder.) After returning home, you’d think we had enough of each other right? In actuality, I think we went out to dinner the next night.
    #Caitia

    #Caitia

     

  3. Getting out of your comfort zone: It’s scary at first, but after you get over the fact that you are in another country, (sounds dumb I know) you are going to have a BLAST! Throw caution to the wind! Get lost and eat your way around the city. Do something spontaneous. You will thank yourself later.
  4. The culture: You have a different mindset after you travel. You feel appreciative of the world, of your friends and of every single day. You meet different people, try things you’d never think you’d do; but it is worth EVERY single second of it.
  5. Making memories: Cheesy, I know but traveling is all about the laughs, the hilarious pictures and all the fun you had. It’s about the time you got yelled at in French because you were laughing too loud in your hotel room  and time you and your friends played “How Long Can You Balance on One Foot in the London Tube.” I’m still the reigning champ.

My favorite memories in a nutshell: 

-Buying fancy macaroons from Laduree and eating them on the train station floor in Paris.

-That 15 hour train ride-OMG WHAT A STORY. I’d like to thank Franprix market for supplying us with endless snacks and Disney for supplying us with endless songs.

FINALLY going to Nando’s.

-Everything about London, especially Platform 9 ¾

-When we sat in front of the Eiffel Tower eating Nutella.

-Having the greatest time with the four best people in the world.

-Going to the very top of the Eiffel Tower.

-Pub-crawl…oh Pub-crawl.

There isn’t a day that goes by that I wish I could just pack my things and go back. I miss the fresh, crisp air of London, the greenery and friendly people. I miss their sandwiches drenched in mayo and how they call fries “chips.” I miss the freedom we had roaming around Paris at our own will and running through the subway tunnels. I miss the pizza from Rome, UGH THAT PIZZA FROM ROME and how we ate gelato after Every. Single. Meal.

I know I will make it back someday to re-experience the art, the architecture, freedom and happiness we all had when we traveled a year ago. Until then, I’m grateful for the traveling I’ve done and am anxiously awaiting for my next adventure. What about you?

It’s Been Real

Cait The Grate(ful)

Leave a comment